WALL TO WALL ME

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Wall to Wall.”

It was only a few years ago that every wall was covered with pictures, posters, paintings and collages of my husband and youngest son.  I was in the midst of grieving for two of the most treasured people in my life.  My surviving daughter and son were convinced that I was a ‘pod’ person.  They didn’t want to visit because they thought that it felt like a mausoleum or a funeral home.  And those dreaded words that were bound to come sooner than later, “I want my Mom back.”  They knew their mom as a confident, strong woman that drove two hours everyday to a hospital to treat patients in the Hepatology department.  She drove the two hours home making patient calls to check on them.  She had a thirty year marriage that was stronger than any relationship they had ever known.  She was in the emergency room with their brother at least two or three times a week for his whole life.

Who is this person who can’t get out of bed, string three words together much less have a two-way conversation, couldn’t cook, couldn’t work, or be a mom.  It was January, 2010 when I finally had enough of looking at my house with reminders at each turn.  I hired an organizer to help me clear the chaos that was my home.  I kept the few things that were important to me and stored some others,  There was painting and remodeling , new floors and a dining room.  The more space that we took back the less cob webs and clutter was in my mind.  A veil of fog began to lift.  Instead of the black and white that I had lived in for those past years were slowly turning colors and the clouds were fluffy white.

All of those old pictures came down and my water colors, paintings from china, canvases of photos that I had taken in my travels with my kids, and scrolls from Thailand adorned my walls.  It now feels free when I walk in, and puts a smile on my face.  Max and Crystal  come over, even with their friends.  My walls no longer crush or close in on me. They are beautiful reminders of my family that never dies.  We are still together, the five of us.

  4 comments for “WALL TO WALL ME

  1. February 17, 2015 at 11:57 pm

    It sounds like the physical act of cleaning away the walls of stuff set you free to move on in your life. A re-opening of space

    Liked by 1 person

    • February 18, 2015 at 12:37 am

      You are so right. I never expected such great results, mentally and with my home. Amazing. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. March 2, 2015 at 5:59 am

    wow, heartfelt thanks for sharing your gift of words and your stories..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

MAKING CHANGE FOR CHILDREN

Being the change in healthcare by building strong families

INSPIRING MAX

Inspiration through my thoughts, experiences and travels

Scribbles & Crumbs

Hope. Kindness. Faith. Love

Just the Tip

[because it tastes good]

INDIHOPE

LIVE POSITIVE READ POSITIVE

purpleslobinrecovery

from purple slob to clean queen

AS I LIVE & BREATHE

A Woman's Journey With Rare Disease

ClaraCCouture

Outfits for every occasion

BrewNSpew

Whimsical & Capricious Chatter

CritDicks.com

A precariously critical, humorous take on life’s interactions with food and drink!

agenda19892010

The value of those societies in which the capitalist mode of production prevails, present itself as "an immense accumulation of commodities", its unit being a single commodity --- Karl Marx

Taking it a Step at a Time

Taking it a Step at a Time - Proud Mom to an adult son with Autism

Tony A. Smith

Books News and More

Arlinspires

Beach, Soul, and Wanderings

Love. Laugh. Sparkle.

Sometimes we lose what makes us shine...here's to finding it again

C.S. Wilde

Epic battles & love stories larger than life.

honeythatsok

stories we tell ourselves

