STRAWBERRIES’ FIRST ANNIVERSARY

I can hardly believe it!  It is my one year anniversary with my Strawberries Forever blog!  I started this blog after the first one:  I Am Not Sick Boy, became too difficult to handle.  I started that one to honor my son, Alex. I thought that I would be writing a book about his life and our experiences trudging through the antiquated medical system to find him the answers to his many chronic illnesses that he was born with.  Along the way, I thought that I could help some families that face some of the hardships that we had, the misdiagnoses, misunderstandings, discouragement, the solitude, and pain that comes with wanting the best outcome for your child.  There is a huge learning curve when you find yourself in this brand new world of a child’s illness.

Before long I learned the true reason that I was here on WordPress.  I missed my favorite pen and it missed me.  Beginning to write again was as if I was taking my first deep breaths in years.  It filled my soul, and gladdened my heart.  I was trying new things like Ronovan’s weekly Haiku challenge,  Colleen’s Wednesday Quotes and Cee’s Photo challenges.  Soon I could not deny that a new space was needed for all of my insights and challenges, and leave the first one for it’s intended cause, medical issues.  I found that what I had to say mattered to many people.  There are children with rare diseases,  common diseases that are rarely diagnosed, fatal illnesses, and lifelong, painful ones that families need answers for.  I am their advocate.

I want to thank all of my followers for being here for me and remaining patient while I get my new nonprofit up and running.  It is called:  Making Change For Children, and I am hoping for a big launch in November!  It has certainly been taking much of my time, but it is the most exciting thing I have ever done.  My website should be up soon.  Here is a pic of my one year anniversary award from WordPress:

anniversary-2x

Post navigation

  8 comments for “STRAWBERRIES’ FIRST ANNIVERSARY

  1. August 10, 2015 at 5:42 pm

    Hurrah!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. August 11, 2015 at 3:18 am

    congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. August 11, 2015 at 10:03 am

    Happy Anniversary. I have been missing your posts! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • August 11, 2015 at 10:27 pm

      Thank you Colleen. When all of the craziness of starting my nonprofit is quieted down, I will be back. ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

      • August 12, 2015 at 6:09 am

        Patty, I want to wish you the best of success with your nonprofit! Visit my blog when you can. It is always a pleasure to see and hear from you. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • August 12, 2015 at 9:29 pm

        ❤️

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

MAKING CHANGE FOR CHILDREN

Being the change in healthcare by building strong families

INSPIRING MAX

Inspiration through my thoughts, experiences and travels

Scribbles & Crumbs

Hope. Kindness. Faith. Love

Just the Tip

[because it tastes good]

INDIHOPE

LIVE POSITIVE READ POSITIVE

purpleslobinrecovery

from purple slob to clean queen

AS I LIVE & BREATHE

A Woman's Journey With Rare Disease

ClaraCCouture

Outfits for every occasion

BrewNSpew

Whimsical & Capricious Chatter

CritDicks.com

A precariously critical, humorous take on life’s interactions with food and drink!

agenda19892010

The value of those societies in which the capitalist mode of production prevails, present itself as "an immense accumulation of commodities", its unit being a single commodity --- Karl Marx

Taking it a Step at a Time

Taking it a Step at a Time - Proud Mom to an adult son with Autism

Tony A. Smith

Books News and More

Arlinspires

Beach, Soul, and Wanderings

Love. Laugh. Sparkle.

Sometimes we lose what makes us shine...here's to finding it again

C.S. Wilde

Epic battles & love stories larger than life.

honeythatsok

stories we tell ourselves

